Gallery

Glen Avon Mills, ca. 1912. The structure's footprint remains largely unchanged today, including the separate shop building at rear.

Map of the Littleville / Ashantee area from 1902 shows three mills still in operation: the Glen Avon Mills (run at that time by Emme Light); the Ashantee Creamery and saw mill shop; and a grist mill further down Conesus Creek, to the north. Notice that the stone arch bridge on Geneseo Street, just below Glen Avon Mills, still is in service.

Paper Mill Falls on Conesus Creek in the town of Avon, N.Y., was the site of several early mills, including a grist (or flour) mill owned by the Wadsworth family of Geneseo, N.Y.

Triphammer Falls was the site of another grist mill on Conesus Creek in Avon, N.Y., owned by the Wadsworth family. A trip-hammer and forge were located nearby. This photo was taken in the early 20th century by Martha Blow Wadsworth who lived at nearby Ashantee with her husband, Herbert Wadsworth.

Detail from David H. Burr's 1829 map of Livingston County shows the locations of mills along Conesus Creek. Captions have been added to identify the names of these sites.

The Galbraith Mill on State St. in Mount Morris, N.Y., situated on the mill race which ran alongside the Genesee Valley Canal as it passed through the village.

An 1828 handbill published by Matthew Brown, Jr. advertising property on a canal (mill race) "about sixty rods distant from the Grand Erie Canal," near the High Falls of the Genesee River in Rochester, N.Y.